Pakistan Super League PSL-4

Pakistan to host last eight matches of PSL-4

The fourth edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL-4) will kick off in the United Arab Emirates on February 14, 2019, where six teams will battle it out for glory.

By Jawad Hussain

ISLAMABAD, September 15, 2018 (SNN247) — The Pakistan Cricket Board announced on Saturday that the last eight matches of the Pakistan Super League 4 (PSL 4) will be staged in Pakistan.

According to the local media reports, the Governing Council of the Pakistan Super League met at the National Stadium in Karachi on Saturday and deliberated upon the modalities of the next season of the Twenty20 league which has become one of the biggest tournaments in the international cricket calendar.

The PSL Governing Council congratulated Ehsan Mani, who has replaced Najam Sethi as Chairman Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) after cricketer-turned-politician Imran Khan’s Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf (PTI) took charge of the government after the July 25 General Elections in Pakistan.

Karachi set to host PSL-4 Final

As per the details of the meeting in Karachi, the final of the Pakistan Super League 2019 will be staged at the National Stadium in Karachi on March 17 next year. The PSL Governing Council also decided to host the last eight matches of the fourth edition of the Twenty20 league. The tournament will kick off on February 14, 2019.

During the meeting, PCB Chairman Ehsan Mani reiterated the cricket board’s resolve to ensure transparency and forge partnerships with all the participating franchises to turn the league into a massive success.

The meeting also decided to involve the representatives of the PSL franchises in the constitution of bid committees for various PSL rights in the coming years. The PCB chief welcomed the PSL franchises’ inclusion in the decision-making process and stressed on the need for collective efforts for the inclusive growth of all the stakeholders.

Ehsan Mani said, “The PCB and all the PSL franchises are partners in this project and I am confident that we will all work together to bring in good numbers for our next rights cycle.”


Amendment in PSL Players Draft Process

The participants of the meeting also discussed the PSL Player Draft process. The meeting decided that this year’s Player Draft would be based on the PSL-3’s rankings with teams allowed a maximum of 10 retentions from the previous season. The PSL stakeholders also agreed to introduce a randomized draft order from the PSL-5 and onward.

All the PSL-4 matches, except the last eight matches, will be staged in the United Arab Emirates.


History of Pakistan Super League

Islamabad United outclassed Peshawar Zalmi by three wickets at Karachi’s National Stadium to lift the PSL title for the second time. They had also won the inaugural edition whereas Peshawar Zalmi clinched the silverware in 2017.

Ali Naqvi and Amna Naqvi of Leonine Global Sports own the Islamabad United. Chief Executive Officer of ARY Group Salman Iqbal owns the Karachi Kings. MD Qatar Lubricants Company Fawad Rana owns the Lahore Qalandars. Nasir Schon and Sons’ Schon Properties owns Multan Sultan. CEO Haier Pakistan Javed Afridi owns Peshawar Zalmi. Director Omar Associates Nadeem Omar owns Quetta Gladiators.

The Pakistan Cricket Board had officially announced in May 2016 that PSL’s inaugural tournament fetched profits of 2.6 million U.S. dollars.


2 thoughts on “Pakistan to host last eight matches of PSL-4

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *