Trinbago Knight Riders CPL 2018 Champions

CPL 2018 Final: Knight Riders clinch back-to-back titles

Guyana Amazon Warriors had defeated Trinbago Knight Riders twice in Caribbean Premier League 2018 (CPL 2018) prior to losing the last match of the season.

By Jawad Hussain

KARACHI, September 16, 2018 ( – The Trinbago Knight Riders romped to their second straight Caribbean Premier League (CPL 2018) title with an eight wickets thrashing of the Guyana Amazon Warriors at Tarouba, the West Indies on late Sunday.

The biggest party in the sports world saw some of the most exciting matches this year. Both Trinbago Knight Riders and Guyana Amazon Warriors came out as the two most successful teams in the six-team competition.

The two teams met each other thrice before the title match this CPL season. The Warriors had defeated the Knight Riders twice in the tournament after failing in their opening bilateral encounter.

However, the Knight Riders paid back when it mattered the most as they successfully lifted the title for the second straight year in a grand fashion.

Guyana Amazon Warriors scored 9/147 from their 20 overs. The total was never good enough to challenge the batting might of Trinbago Knight Riders as they claimed victory in just 17.3 overs.


Ali Khan delivers the initial punch

Knight Riders’ skipper Dwayne Bravo won the toss and decided to bowl first in the high-pressure game. American fast bowler Ali Khan gave Knight Riders a big scalp in the first over as he got rid of Cameron Delport for a golden duck.

New Zealand’s wicket-keeper-batsman Luke Ronchi (44 off 35 – 6 fours, 1 six) revived the innings along with Shimron Hetmyer (15 off 11). The two batsmen added 52 runs for the second wicket before Hetmyer (15 off 11 – 1 four, 1 six) became the first victim of Player of the Match Khary Pierre in the 7th over.

The Warriors seemed to have beaten the initial butterflies in the stomach at the halfway stage of the innings, scoring at around eight runs an over.


CPL 2018 Final: Warriors decently placed at halfway stage

However, the 11th over the innings change the complexion of the innings. The Warriors lost two of their stalwarts including Luke Ronchi and Chadwick Walton (1 off 2). The double blow left Warriors licking their wounds at 4/81 after 10.5 overs. The team needed someone to anchor the innings and required an accelerator at the other end. They did find an anchor in Jason Mohammad (24 off 23 – 3 fours) but failed to find an aggressor. Sherfane Rutherford (12 off 7 – 1 four, 1 six) fell prey to his flamboyance whereas Pakistani all-rounder Sohail Tanvir (3 off 6) also failed to inspire the lower order.


CPL 2018 Final: Toothless Finish for the Warriors

Skipper Chris Green (5 off 7 – 1 four) and Romario Shepherd (10 off 9 – 1 four) also failed miserably to enjoy rollicking final overs. Rayad Emrit (14* off 15 – 1 four) and South African leg-spinner Imran Tahir (8* off 4 – 1 six) used the long handle in the final few balls to give Guyana Amazon Warriors something to bowl at.


CPL 2018 Final: Impressive Bowling Stats for Knight Riders

Ali Khan (4-0-20-1) was phenomenal with his discipline during his spell of four overs. However, it was Khary Pierre (4-0-29-3) who turned the game on his head. Australian leg-spin bowler Fawad Ahmed (4-0-29-1) also bowled a decent spell of leggies. Skipper Dwayne Bravo (4-0-30-2) and mystery orthodox off-spinner Sunil Narine (4-031-1) also chipped in with a few wickets.


CPL 2018 Final: An Easy Run-Chase for TKR

The Trinbago Knight Riders faced little trouble in the run-chase as they raced to the target with 15 balls to spare. The Knight Riders adjusted their batting order by giving wicket-keeper-batsman Dinesh Ramdin (24 off 30) a go at the top order. However, Ramdin, who is renowned for his aggressive batting style, resorted to playing a second-fiddle role in presence of veteran Kiwi professional cricketer. Brendon McCullum (39 off 24 – 5 fours, 2 sixes) took control of the things right from the start. The Knight Riders lost McCullum at 52 runs in the 7th over. Ramdin also returned to the pavilion in the 12th over with total at 87 runs.


Colin Munro is Player of the CPL 2018 for a Reason

New Zealand’s aggressive left-handed batsman Colin Munro (68* off 39 – 6 fours, 3 sixes) took charge of the proceedings. Despite losing Darren Bravo, who got retired hurt, the Kiwi aggressor was in no mood to spare any bowler. Colin Munro, who was named Player of the CPL 2018, finished the run-chase in a grand style with Colin Ingram (7* off 5 – 1 four).

Chris Green (4-0-30-1) and Romario Shepherd (3-0-29-1) were the only wicket-takers for the Guyana Amazon Warriors. Khary Pierre was named Player of the CPL 2018 final for his brilliant bowling performance.


DISCLAIMER: This news was first published on SportsNewsNetwork24/7.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *