Shaheen Shah Afridi enters Pakistan Test fold

The latest left-arm fast bowling sensation Shaheen Shah Afridi has received a huge test call after his impressive performance in the ongoing one day series against Kiwis.

By Hamad Hussain

KARACHI, Nov. 10, 2018 ( — The Pakistan Cricket Board today announced 15-member squad for the first two test matches against New Zealand to be played in the United Arab Emirates. Shaheen Shah Afridi earned his maiden test call after his consistently impressive performances in ODIs and T20Is this season.

Saad Ali has been recalled into test squad after his impressive performance for Pakistan A against New Zealand A while dashing left-handed batsman Fakhar Zaman and leg-spinner Shadab Khan has been rested for test series.

Following is the press release issued by PCB:

The National Selection Committee headed by Inzamam ul Haq after consultation with Captain Sarfraz Ahmed and Head Coach Mickey Arthur has announced the 15 member Test squad for two Test matches against New Zealand. The three-match Test series will commence from November 16-20 in Abu Dhabi. The second Test match will be played in Dubai from November 24-28, whereas the last match of the series will be played in Abu Dhabi from December 3 to 7, 2018.

The team has been selected keeping in mind the conditions of the UAE, where Shahdab Khan and Fakhar Zaman have been rested from the Test matches and have also been advised to undergo training at the NCA. Shaheen Shah Afridi has been included in the squad keeping his current form. Saad Ali included in the side after performing in domestic cricket and recent Pakistan ‘A’ series in the UAE,” concludes Chief Selector Inzamam ul Haq.

The selected players are:

  1. Muhammad Hafeez
  2. Imam Ul Haq
  3. Azhar Ali 
  4. Haris Sohail
  5. Asad Shafiq
  6. Baber Azam
  7. Saad Ali
  8. Sarfaraz Ahmad. ( captain)
  9. Yasir Shah
  10. Bilal Asif
  11. Muhammad Abbas
  12. Hassan Ali
  13. Shaheen Shah Afridi
  14. Faheem Ashraf
  15. Mir Hamza

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *