Mitchell Starc

Mitchell Starc out of Australia tour to Pakistan

Cricket Australia decided to make former skipper Steven Smith and opening batsman David Warner to wait for international return while Mitchell Starc was also ruled out of Australia tour to Pakistan 2019.

By Jawad Hussain

KARACHI, March 8, 2019 ( – The Cricket Australia on Friday announced an unchanged 15-member squad for the upcoming One Day International leg of the tour to Pakistan 2019.

Fast bowler Mitchell Starc was omitted from the squad for the ODI series against Pakistan to be staged in the United Arab Emirates, which acts as Pakistan’s home due to international teams’ refusal to tour Pakistan in the wake of terrorists attack on Sri Lankan cricket team in Lahore in 2009. The left-arm fast bowler, who is an integral part of Australian World Cup plans, was ruled out of the series due to a setback during his recovery from a left pectoral strain.

In a blow for Australia’s hopes of building momentum for the World Cup in England starting late May, pace spearhead Mitchell Starc has been ruled out of the squad after a setback during his recovery from a left pectoral strain.

Aussie selector Trevor Hohns said in a media release, “This has ruled him (Starc) out of the Pakistan series and while frustrating for all involved, our focus is to have Mitch ready for the World Cup.”

Mitchell Starc already missed the ongoing One Day International series in India, which Australia currently trail 2-0 with the third encounter scheduled for Friday in Ranchi.

The Australian selectors have picked fast bowler Kane Richardson to fill up the shoes of Mitchell Starc for the five-match ODI series against Pakistan in the UAE. Kane Richardson is also struggling with a few fitness issues as he was sent back home from India with a side strain issue.

The Australian squad for Pakistan ODI series includes Aaron Finch (captain), Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Glenn Maxwell, Ashton Turner, Marcus Stoinis, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Lyon, and Adam Zampa.

The five-match ODI series between Pakistan and Australia will start on March 22, 2019. The series would be staged in three cities of the United Arab Emirates, i.e. Sharjah, Dubai, and the capital city of Abu Dhabi. The first two Pakistan-Australia ODIs will be played at Sharjah Cricket Stadium on March 22 and March 24. The Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhbai will host the third ODI on March 27. The Dubai International Cricket Stadium will host the final two clashes in the series on March 29 and March 31.

Australia tour to Pakistan 2019

1st ODI | March 22 | Sharjah Cricket Stadium in Sharjah

2nd ODI | March 24 | Sharjah Cricket Stadium in Sharjah

3rd ODI | March 27 | Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi

4th ODI | March 29 | Dubai International Cricket Stadium in Dubai

5th ODI | March 31 | Dubai International Cricket Stadium in Dubai

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *